crazinessensues

Running, Biking, Crafting, Living

Wall Art

on April 9, 2013

So months ago I saw a window display at the store Anthropologie, they always have the most creative displays.  Anyway, this one caught my eye and my imagination.  It was different size paint cans nailed to the wall with different colored paint coming out of them.  I’m sure I’m not explaining it well, but trust me, it was very cool.  Anyway it got me thinking, I have this big blank wall in my dining room that really needs something; just how could I translate this cool display into my house?

Before I tell you what I came up with I have to tell you how amazing my husband is!  He is so supportive of my crazy ideas.  I want to make a giant clock on the wall, and he’s right there measuring it out and hanging the numbers so the circle is perfect.  I want to make a picture frame out of an old door and he takes me to the biggest flea market in North Texas and helps me scour the place for the perfect door.  He also helps me figure out details of the projects – we used house numbers for the numbers in the clock, and used all black and white pictures in the frame, both his ideas and both perfect suggestions!

So, when I come home from Home Depot one day with a couple of 3 foot dowels and lots of different colored paint samples he really doesn’t question me.  Here’s what I came up with, my very loose version of the Anthropologie display.

DSCN1433

I took dowels of two different width sizes, they were each about 3 feet long, and cut them to three different lengths – 1 inch, 1 ½ inches, and 2 inches.  Then I painted them by dipping them into different colored paint samples I got from Home Depot.

Now if you know me, you know that I’m the kind of person who diDSCN1437ves in head first and figures out the details as I go.  I eventually got enough done that my husband could see where I was going with this and we started talking about how I was going to hang them.  After several ideas we ended up using an epoxy to glue the dowels to a thin sheet of aluminum that we painted black.  Two of the dowels are actually covering screws we used to add hooks to hang it.  There it is, my 3D art project, come to life and hanging in my dining room.

What’s next?  Well I have one more wall in my dining room that needs something (the ideas are brimming over!), and we’re just starting to renovate our master bedroom.  I can’t wait to see how those ideas turn out!

???????????????????????????????

7 responses to “Wall Art

  1. Edgar Wong says:

    this is awesome! does home depot give out paint samples or did you have to buy a little can for each color?

    • Thanks Edgar! I had to but little 8 oz paint samples from Home Depot of each color, they cost about $3.00 each. I used 11 different colors so it cost me about $35.00. I picked one of those little paint sample cards and got samples in all four colors so I had different shades of green, brown, etc. I’m sure the paint lady thought I was crazy, but it sure made the project easy. They were also a perfect size for me to dip the dowel into.

  2. Sharon says:

    This is just incredible!! I am dying to steal your ideA for my hall but have a few questions..
    -What size is your final piece and how long did it take?
    -Was it messy? I’m thinking (always dangerous) if the dowel was dipped in the pot did the paint run a lot? Did you have to do two coats?
    -is the final piece very heavy?
    -Can I be in your family and come to your fab parties lol

    Thank you so much for sharing your talent and ideas. You are very inspirational!! :0)

    • Sharon, you are so very sweet. Thank you for your comments, you made my day!
      Ok, information on the wall art. First, I love that you want to make one. Mine ended up being 48″ wide by 32″ high. We put painters tape on the wall to determine how big we wanted it to be. It’s hard to say how long it took to make. Really I had this vague idea in my head and just started cutting and painting dowels. I would come home for lunch one day and cut a couple of dowels, maybe the next day I would sand them, and then paint them. It took several months, but that was only because I would work on it sporadically. Painting was easy, I drilled a pilot hole in one end of the dowel, then I had little hooks that I would screw into the hole. I dipped the dowel into the paint and then would take a paint brush and brush the access paint off the dowel back into the paint pot. Id didn’t have any drips or runs. I screwed several of those little hooks into a shelf in my garage and would hang the painted dowel from the shelf to dry. It only took one coat of paint and they dried very quickly.

      My husband actually thought of doing the wood on metal thing. We went to a local place that sells metal, picked something on the thin side because of the weight concern and told them how big we wanted it. We spray painted it black and glued the dowels on in a random pattern – I think I laid the dowels out several times before I found the “random” pattern I was happy with. We used mirror hangers to hang it, and just screwed dowels over the two screws that were needed to attach the hooks. It was comical when we went to hang it, it did end up pretty heavy, and was very awkward, I can’t imagine ever moving it.

      I hope this helps. Good look with your project, I think you’ll love it!

      • Sharon says:

        Thank you for replying :0) the little screw idea is brilliant. I have bought my dowels so will go and get some of the wee screw hooks too. I will try and send a photo of the finished article of it ever happens!
        Thanks again and I hope you and your family have a lovely Christmas x

Leave a Reply

