crazinessensues

Running, Biking, Crafting, Living

Crocheted Lego Blanket

on July 20, 2012

In my typical fashion of getting an idea in my head and deciding that “I can do that!”, several years ago I decided to teach myself how to crochet.  I bought a few books, made a few pot holders, attempted other projects, but I don’t think I actually ever finished anything bigger than a pot holder.  I would pick it up every couple of years, play a little and then move on to something else. 

So doesn’t it make perfect sense that years later, when I find out I’m going to be a grandmother for the first time, that I decide I have to crochet a blanket for my new grandbaby?  I raised two boys, so legos were a big deal in our house, so when I came across a picture of a crocheted lego blanket on Pintest I just knew I had to make it for my grandson. 

Off I went to find my craftbox full of crochet hooks and unused yarn.  A quick glance at my old books to remember how to do the stitches and I was ready to go!  I decided that once I figured it out and could make one block I was set, all I had to do was make 99 more – serioulsy 99 more!  What was I thinking?!  There were times I thought I would never finish making those little lego blocks.  I ended up making way more than 100 blocks, when one block wasn’t quite the size as all the other I would do it over.  When I joined the first two rows together I figured out I could do it better so I had to remake the first row of blocks.   The baby shower had seemed so far away, but soon I was in major countdown mode!  I crocheted everywhere, and in all my spare time, as my husband would be happy to attest to! 

I thought I was so clever by organizing each row in ziplock baggies with the row number written on the outside and the order they were to be added, so the finished blanket would have a nice consistent pattern. Of course it wasn’t until I was about halfway through joining the blocks together that I discovered I got off my pattern!  Oh well, I think I like the new pattern better anyway!

I finished the blanket three days before the baby shower!  I look forward to my sweet little grandson sitting in the middle of the blanket playing.  I’m now working on two more blankets, and have the next project in mind when these are done. 

Thanks to Andrea Baker for sharing this cute pattern and sparking my passion for crochet!

Leave a Reply

