crazinessensues

Running, Biking, Crafting, Living

Christmas in July!

on July 18, 2012

So I may be in the minority here, but Christmas isn’t necessarily my favorite time of year.  I know, I’m supposed to remember and focus on “the reason for the season”, but doesn’t it get harder every year to do that?  Everyone seems overscheduled with parties, shopping, decorating and baking.  The decision on what to buy the people you love, how much to spend, and who all do you have to buy for can just be too much.  It’s not about the gift, I know that, but doesn’t it always seem to come down to that?  So I thought, wouldn’t it be fun to have a Christmas in July party and celebrate the season with family and friends just because I wanted to and not because I had to?

I have to say I had so much fun planning and plotting for this party.  Having a Christmas party in the middle of summer is a little crazy anyway, so why not go all the way with it?  It wasn’t a huge party, pretty much just our immediate family, but with everyone living close by we could have lots of fun with the invitations!

We started out by hand delivering a “Save the Date” invitation.  We packaged up each invitation in a box with four melted snowman cookies.  Pinterest was amazing for ideas.  I found the melted snowman cookie on Crazy Domestic, and it couldn’t have been more perfect –it is July after all! 

 
 

 Next came the actual party invitation.  My husband and I had a blast with this.  I picked up some accounting boxes (large size box with a lid).  I wrapped the box and lid separately so you didn’t actually have to unwrap the box, just lift the lid.  Added some ribbon to the top and a gift card.  In the box we put one helium filled balloon, with a ribbon attached and the invitation rolled and tied to the end of the ribbon.  So off we went – my husband and I and our trunk full of boxes.  We sang along to Christmas music and delivered each box.  At each house I would leave the box at the front door, ring the doorbell and run like a mad woman to the car, where my husband was waiting to make our get-away. 

All of our guests loved it.  One person said the balloon went all the way up to their vaulted ceiling, and one of our nieces got bonked on the head by the balloon because she was leaning over to see what was inside the box.  She made her parents close the box and do it again.  One of my son’s called me absolutely cracking up.  My get-away wasn’t as smooth from his house and when he opened the door all he saw was his mom running through the front yard, to jump in the car and speed away.  It was a lot of fun, but my favorite part was being with my husband and us laughing historically in the car together.

Leave a Reply

