crazinessensues

Running, Biking, Crafting, Living

Christmas Tree

on July 18, 2012

Have you seen that Christmas Tree Mobile that’s on Pinterest?  It’s so cool! I fell in love with it last year and wanted to make one to be our tree for Christmas, but it never happened.  So I was determined to get it done for our Christmas in July party.  Megan was amazingly generous on her blog Not Martha, sharing the details on how she did it.  I put my husband in charge and I was his helper. 

Once we really understood the process it really wasn’t that hard.  We had our routine and we worked on it a few hours at a time over three days.  We only broke three ornaments in the process!  We also got to learn a new skill using jewelry crimpers – we had to watch a YouTube video to understand how they work, but we got it!  Is jewelry making in our future?  Probably not, but you never know!

Here’s our tree – during the party we had a spotlight on it to give it lots of shimmer! Everyone was very impressed.  With Christmas (the real Christmas) being only a few months off we’re going to hang it in one of the guest rooms and then bring it back out.  I may add glitter to the inside of the ornaments to change it up a bit, but we’ll see what I’m in the mood for when the time comes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s another tree that greeted our guests at the front door.  It’s a tomato cage wrapped in shimmery garland.  I happened to have red pom poms for a game we decided not to play, so I set the pom poms in the garland to make it look a little like lights.  A little cheesy I know, but kind of cute.

One more tree.  Before heading out to work one morning I had this idea.  I had purchased a couple of styrofoam cones that were screaming to be used.  So I thought, what if… I wrapped the cone in twine, instered push pins all around, and set it on the bathroom counter.  Done!  I love a project that uses stuff I have in the house!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

